Nick’s: Bogotá’s go-to deli

UPDATE: Bogotá’s Zona G is now the happy home of Nick’s II.

Located at Cra. 4#69-23 tel# 2456556.

The cozy old house has Defrescura fruit and veg on the ground floor, Nick’s on the second floor and an art gallery on the third floor. Stop by and enjoy the laid back atmosphere, a great salad or sandwich, one of the city’s best chocolate cakes, an imported or locally brewed beer, or a cocktail.

“The kind of place every neighborhood should have.” This is how Nick’s was described in a magazine write-up recently. It’s been open for a few months now but I hadn’t written about it probably because I go there so much. I figured I’d get around to it eventually but it wasn’t until Nick threatened me that I knew I couldn’t put it off any longer. I couldn’t risk being banned from having my favorite beers and sandwiches. Of course he was only joking – I think.The first thing I ever ordered at Nick’s was the Prosciutto sandwich and it was love at first bite. It was hard to order anything else at first but the more I tried, the more I liked. The sandwiches and salads are  fresh and generous and many have imported meats from Italy (proscuitto, bresaola, capicola, etc) and cheeses from all over.

I can’t not mention Nick’s roastbeef. It’s homemade, pink in the center and I’m pretty sure it’s the best and most authentic roastbeef in the city if not the country. The roastbeef sandwich with gouda and all the fixings is a star on the menu.

Aside from the sandwiches and salads, you’ll find cheese platters and the newly added soup du jour. If you aren’t hungry, then by all means come by and have a coffee, a beer, a cocktail, or a shot (guaromelon, for example)! Nick is a world-class bartender and has a well-stocked bar to suit almost any clients’ thirst.

This is my sandwich – the Diana. It’s not on the menu (yet) but ask for it. My parents make mango chutney and that is the star of this creation. Spicy capicola, mango chutney, goat cheese, tomatoes and arugula – “a journey of flavors”, as Nick puts it.

But wait, there’s more! On top of all the good things I can say about Nick’s, and not just because he’s my friend, there’s this:

Nick makes bikes. If you are in the market for a new bici, have a talk with Nick and you can get yourself a custom-made bike. Nick’s has actually won a contest for being one of Bogotá’s  most bike friendly places, so you’ll undoubtedly see bikes there. Also, if you ride up on your bike you get a 10% discount on your purchase.

Nick’s is also the proud home of my little Bogotá Book Swap project. The red crate by the entrance holds a small collection of books in english and spanish that you can swap for books you’ve already read. So far it’s been working a treat so come replenish your reading supply.

Every meat, cheese and vegetable is sliced to order!

Nick’s is conveniently located just a short walk from the Zona Rosa and it’s a nice departure from the fancy pants, hustle and bustle of the area.

Nick’s

Carrera 9 # 79A – 28

Tel: 321.4108

This entry was posted in Bogotá, Eats and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nick’s: Bogotá’s go-to deli

  1. Joe Walsh says:

    Can’t wait to get back to Bogota to enjoy a meal!!!!

  2. Mike Ceaser says:

    Beautiful women at Nick’s, as well. But Nick’s needs a bike rack out front! (At least when I visited).

    Mike

  3. Abby says:

    Definitely LOVED Nick’s when I was there- perfect for a casual lunch, glass of wine after a long day at work, or to host a despedita!! Nick graciously opened on a puente before my friend Corey’s departure for a private party– fun was had by all!! AND he has the awesome super-hard-to-find-in-Bogota beer I love from Medellin. Score!!

  4. Richa says:

    Diana! Emily me dijo sobre este blog… que excelente! Tuve que encontrar recomendaciones de comida, y ahora yo se la persona quien debo consultar.

    I’m going to have to stop myself from reading this whole thing…

  5. adri.anita says:

    I love their menu, the friendly staff, the decor and the atmosphere. Great place for lunch with friends or by yourself (magazines and books), and it’s one of the few places in the area that stays open late for drinks. I know it’s a deli, but to me the only thing that’s keeping the sandwiches form being truly amazing is a sandwich press. I like my sandwiches panini style…

    • Nicks says:

      Hey, you can have your sandwich panini style anytime you want. Our sandwich press is small so we dont really advertise it cause if 5 people want their sandwiches pressed at the same time, it might be a little while..
      Stop by…
      NIck

  6. Pingback: The 7 Links Challenge: A look back at Bogotá Eats & Drinks | Bogotá Eats + Drinks

Leave a Reply

