Pepino Melon: Uninspiring Exotic Fruit

This is called a pepino melon. It’s a fruit native to the Andes and I was told to eat it like any other fruit. You peel it, slice it, and enjoy…

I’m not going to lie – it’s not delicious. It’s not sweet like a fruit and it tastes a bit more like cucumber but with the soft, watery texture of a melon. It might be a different variety altogether though because all the pictures I found online showed round fruit – not elongated like this one. Who knows?

Either way I don’t think I’ll buy it again unless I bump my head and forget I’ve already tried it once. With so many amazing fruits in Colombia, this one doesn’t stand a chance…

Here’s a link FYI: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solanum_muricatum

This entry was posted in Andean cuisine, Colombia, Ingredients and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pepino Melon: Uninspiring Exotic Fruit

  1. Liliana says:

    Hi where do you buy this cucumber?? Seems beautiful at least…

    • Hi! I bought it at Surtifruver (the local chain of mega produce markets) – i’ve never seen it anywhere else but i’m sure it’s available at other local markets. It definitely looks better than it tastes but maybe there is a better way to prepare it…
      Thanks for the comment!
      D

Leave a Reply

